Bloomington Minnesota Online Driver Education and Bloomington Minnesota Licensing Procedures
Purpose: To provide supplemental information to help obtain your Bloomington Minnesota Learners Permit or Drivers License. This online course cannot be used to complete the required 30 hours of classroom instruction.
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Bloomington Minnesota Learner's Permit or first Bloomington Minnesota driver's license. Bloomington Minnesota has a Graduated Driver License Program for Bloomington Minnesota teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Bloomington Minnesota driver's license goes as smoothly as possible. So let's get started.
Bloomington Minnesota Instructional Permit and Bloomington Minnesota Learner's Permit
The minimum age to apply for a Bloomington Minnesota Instruction Permit is 15. You'll need to make an appointment at your local Bloomington Minnesota Driver Vehicle Service (DVS) office after you complete the following:
- Complete 30 hours of Bloomington Minnesota approved driver education classroom instruction
- Be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction
- Be at least 15
- Application with parent/legal guardian signature
- Certificate of completion for driver education
- The required fee
Bring these materials to your local Bloomington Minnesota DVS. Then you'll have to pass the required vision and written tests. If you survived, then congratulations! You just earned your Bloomington Minnesota Instruction Permit, which is valid for 2 years.
Remember that with your Bloomington Minnesota Learner's Permit, you can only practice driving with your parent, guardian, or another licensed driver who is 21. Also, Bloomington Minnesota teen drivers are prohibited from using a cell phone while driving. Every passenger in your car must have their seatbelt fastened. After you've had your Bloomington Minnesota Learner's Permit for 6 months, you'll be ready for the next step in the Bloomington Minnesota Graduated License Program.
The Bloomington Minnesota Provisional License and Bloomington Minnesota Full License
In order to apply for your Bloomington Minnesota provisional driver's license, you'll need to make sure you follow a few Bloomington Minnesota State requirements before heading down to your local Bloomington Minnesota DVS:
- Be at least 16 and must have held your Bloomington Minnesota Learner's Permit for at least 6 months without incident
- Driver education completion certificate
- 30 hours of supervised driving
- At least 10 hours must be at night
If you've completed the following requirements, head on down to your local Bloomington Minnesota DVS, where you'll pay the required fee and submit your Bloomington Minnesota Provisional License application. Then you'll have to take the dreaded road test! If you pass, then congratulations! You've just earned your Bloomington Minnesota Intermediate driver license! However, you'll still have to drive with a few restrictions for the time being. Your Bloomington Minnesota Provisional License is valid for 2 years.
Once you've held your Bloomington Minnesota Intermediate Driver's license for 12 months, you may apply for the Bloomington Minnesota Full License. One more time, head on down to your local Bloomington Minnesota DVS office, submit the application and required fee ($24).
Bloomington Minnesota Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Bloomington Minnesota provisional driver's license:
- All passengers must wear seat belts
- No using a cell phone while driving (with or without a hands-free device)
With your Bloomington Minnesota full license, you must abide by the following restrictions for the first 6 months:
- No driving between the hours of 12AM and 5AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver 25 or older
- That is, unless you're driving to/from your job, a school event that did not offer transportation, or for an emergency
- Only one passenger under the age of 20 is permitted
For the following 6 months, you must follow the following restrictions:
- Only 3 passengers under 20 allowed in your vehicle
- The exception is if your parent/guardian is also in the vehicle
Bloomington Minnesota Auto Insurance Bloomington Minnesota Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Bloomington Minnesota drivers license, you're ready to drive--or are you? Any vehicle registered in Bloomington Minnesota must be covered by Personal Injury Protection insurance (PIP) as well as liability insurance.
The minimum coverage PIP coverage is:
- $40,000 per person for bodily injury (PIP)
- $20,000 for hospital and medical expenses (PIP)
- $20,000 for non-medical expenses (PIP)
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $30,000 for injury of one person
- $60,000 for injury of two or more people
- $10,000 for property damage
The minimum uninsured/underinsured coverage is:
- $25,000 for injury to one person
- $50,000 for injury to two or more people
- $25,000 for injuries to one person
- $50,000 for injuries to two or more people
If you are found to be driving without Bloomington Minnesota mandatory liability insurance, your Bloomington Minnesota Learner's Permit or Bloomington Minnesota Intermediate license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Bloomington Minnesota Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Bloomington Minnesota driver, it's important for you to learn the Bloomington Minnesota drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Bloomington Minnesota's "Not A Drop" law states that you will lose your Bloomington Minnesota Instruction Permit or Bloomington Minnesota Intermediate License if a police officer observes you driving without full control of your vehicle and will suspend your license from 30 to 180 days.
Upon your first conviction of a Bloomington Minnesota DWI, you'll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence up to 90 days
- $1,000 fine
- License suspension of 180 days to 1 year
- License Reinstatement fee of $250-430 in addition to an application fee of $24
- Possible Ignition Lock device installation
And of course, further Bloomington Minnesota DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Bloomington Minnesota license suspension or even Bloomington Minnesota license revocation.
Currently, Bloomington Minnesota teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving, except to call 911 in an emergency. You also many not compose, read, or send text messages while driving.
Bloomington Minnesota Online Driver Education
Bloomington Minnesota teen drivers are required to enroll in a driver education program. For information about approved Bloomington Minnesota online driver education courses, you can find more information here.