Berea Ohio Online Driver Education and Berea Ohio Licensing Procedures
We're very happy that you're starting the process of applying for your Berea Ohio learner's permit or first Berea Ohio driver license! Berea Ohio has a graduated driver license program for Berea Ohio drivers ages 15-18, and there are a few things we would like you to know to make sure that applying for your Berea Ohio driving license is as trouble-free an experience as possible. So let's jump right in.
Berea Ohio Learner's Permit
When you turn 15 and a half, you can apply for an Berea Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit, otherwise known as an Berea Ohio Learner’s Permit. With this license, the following restrictions apply:
- For the first 6 months you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, or driving instructor
- After 6 months, you can also practice with a licensed driver who is at least 21
- All passengers must wear seatbelts
- Be sure to carry your Berea Ohio Temporary Permit with you at all times!
When you're ready to apply, you’ll need to bring proof of age and identity; your social security number; and a parent/guardian to sign the permit application.
If you’ve got all of the necessary materials, head on down to your local Berea Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a knowledge test. (Relax, you can practice with a sample Berea Ohio knowledge test.) If you pass, then congratulations--you’ve just earned your Berea Ohio Temporary Permit!
Once you’ve held your Berea Ohio Temporary Permit for 6 months and have met a few more requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Berea Ohio Graduated License Program, the Berea Ohio Driver License.
The Berea Ohio Provisional Driver License or Berea Ohio Full Driver License
You can apply for your Berea Ohio Probationary Driver License once you’ve held your Berea Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit for 6 months and have met the following requirements:
- Complete 8 hours of driving instruction
- Complete 24 hours of class instruction in an approved Berea Ohio driver education course
- Practice driving for 50 hours total - 10 of these hours must be at night
- Your parent/guardian will have to certify your documented practice hours
As soon as you satisfy these requirements, head on down to your local Berea Ohio BMV. You’ll have to overcome one final obstacle: the dreaded Berea Ohio road skills test! If you pass, then reward yourself for making it to this point. You’ve just earned your Berea Ohio Probationary Driver License!
Berea Ohio Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You still have just a little father to go to earn your full Berea Ohio driver's license. Until then, there are a few restrictions for your Berea Ohio Probationary Driver License, depending on your age:
- Berea Ohio teen drivers under 17 can’t carry more than 1 passenger that is not family (unless accompanied by a parent/guardian of course)
- All passengers between the ages of 4 and 15 must be properly restrained
- If you’re 16, you may not drive between the hours of 12AM and 6AM
- If you’re 17, you may not drive between the hours of 1AM and 5AM
- The exception for the driving curfew is in case of: (1) an emergency, (2) driving to/from a school sanctioned activity, and (3) driving to/from your place of employment (must have written documentation from your employer)
On the bright side, once you turn 18, these restrictions are removed. Freedom!
Berea Ohio Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As an Berea Ohio teen driver, there's no bigger threat you'll face than drunk drivers. It’s important for you to learn the Berea Ohio drunk driving laws (and obey them religiously). Like most states, Berea Ohio has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of an Berea Ohio DUI or Berea Ohio DWI, you face additional penalties to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of an Berea Ohio DUI, you’ll face the following penalties:
- License suspension from 6 months to 3 years
- Or Driver Intervention Program (3 days)
- Berea Ohio License reinstatement fee $450
- Jail 3 days to 6 months
- Fine from $250 to $1,000
And of course, further Berea Ohio DWI and DUI convictions will result in more severe penalties, up and including jail time, Berea Ohio license suspension or even Berea Ohio license revocation. As you can see, it's something we take very seriously - don't do it!
Berea Ohio Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you finally get your coveted Berea Ohio Learner’s Permit or Berea Ohio Provisional driver’s license, you’re ready to drive--or so you may think. Because accidents happen to even experienced drivers, Berea Ohio drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $12,500 bodily injury for one person
- $7,500 for property damage per accident
- $25,000 bodily injury two or more people
It's no joke. If you are in an accident and found to be driving without Berea Ohio mandatory liability insurance, your Berea Ohio license could be suspended for 90 days to 2 years, and you may face Berea Ohio license plate reinstatement fees, as well as other penalties.
Berea Ohio Cell Phone Laws
We acknowledge how important it is for young people to stay in touch with friends, but studies show that cell phone use, especially text messaging, contributes to accidents. Currently, it is illegal for Berea Ohio teen drivers to use cell phones while driving only in Brooklyn, North Olmstead, and Walton Hills. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't be careful elsewhere as well!
Berea Ohio Online Driver Education
Berea Ohio teen drivers are required to take an Berea Ohio approved driver education course. You can find more information on approved Berea Ohio online driver education courses at the Berea Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles search page.