Your Guide to Appalachia Virginia Online Driver Education and Licensing Procedures
The process of applying for your Appalachia Virginia learner's permit or first Appalachia Virginia driver's license can be nerve-racking, but it doesn't have to be if you have the right information. The first thing you need to know is that Appalachia Virginia has a Graduated Driver License Program
for Appalachia Virginia teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that you don't hit any snags while applying for your first Appalachia Virginia driver’s. Here's what you need to know:
The Appalachia Virginia Learner’s Permit or Appalachia Virginia Instruction Permit
When you turn 15 and a half, you can finally apply for a Appalachia Virginia Learner’s Permit, otherwise known as a Appalachia Virginia Instruction Permit. In order to apply, you’ll need:
Once you’re ready, make an appointment, then head on down to your local Appalachia Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a two-part written exam. If you survive, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Appalachia Virginia Learner’s Permit.
When practicing, you must have your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 21 sitting next to you. However, you may also be accompanied by a family member if he/she is at least 18 years old and licensed. All passengers must wear seatbelts, and you are required to carry your Appalachia Virginia Learner’s Permit with you at all times. Also, with a Appalachia Virginia Learner’s Permit, you are allowed no more than 1 passenger under 18 (unless immediate family members), and you may not drive between midnight and 4AM. And finally, no cell phones while driving!
If you can hold your Appalachia Virginia Learner Permit for 9 months and meet a few more requirements, you're all set for the next step in the Appalachia Virginia Graduated License Program, the Appalachia Virginia Driver License.
The Appalachia Virginia Driver License or Appalachia Virginia Provisional License
Once you’ve held your Appalachia Virginia Learner’s Permit for 9 months without incident, you can apply for your Appalachia Virginia Driver’s License. However, you’ll need to make sure you have satisfied these requirements:
With these requirements met, you can make an appointment and head back to your local Appalachia Virginia DMV again. Then you’ll have to take the dreaded Appalachia Virginia road test
! Pass it, then congratulate yourself: you’ve just earned your Appalachia Virginia Driver’s License. However, there are still a few restrictions you'll have to live with for the time being.
Appalachia Virginia Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You've come a long way, but you still have a few months of good behavior to go before you've earned your full license. There are still a few restrictions you’ll have to keep in mind now that you have your Appalachia Virginia Driver’s License:
- All passengers and the driver must wear seat belts
- No more than 1 passenger until you’ve held your Appalachia Virginia Driver’s License for 1 year in good standing
- No driving from midnight to 4AM unless in case of an emergency or when accompanied by a supervising driver
- No cell phones while driving (not even a hands-free device)
But you're just a few months away from freedom! Once you turn 18, these restrictions will no longer apply.
Appalachia Virginia Drunk Driving Laws
As a Appalachia Virginia teen driver, there's no greater threat to your safety than intoxicated drivers. it’s important for you to learn the Appalachia Virginia drunk driving laws. First of all, Appalachia Virginia has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Appalachia Virginia DUI or Appalachia Virginia DWI, your Appalachia Virginia Learner Permit or Appalachia Virginia Driver’s License will be suspended.
In general, your first conviction of a Appalachia Virginia DUI can carry the following penalties:
- Jail 5 days to 10 days, depending on your blood alcohol level
- Additional fine of $500-1,000 if a passenger under 18 is in the vehicle
- Appalachia Virginia license suspension of 1 year
- Alcohol Safety Action Program
- Fine $250 minimum
- Ignition Interlock Device possible (depending on BAC level)
And of course, further Appalachia Virginia DWI and DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Appalachia Virginia license suspension or even Appalachia Virginia license revocation.
Appalachia Virginia Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Appalachia Virginia Provisional Driver license, you may think you're ready to hit the road, but there are still a few more things you need to know. First of all, Appalachia Virginia drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $20,000 for property damage per accident
Take this seriously! Your Appalachia Virginia Learner Permit or Appalachia Virginia Driver’s License could be suspended if you are in an accident and found to be driving without Appalachia Virginia mandatory liability insurance.
Cell Phone and Text Messaging Laws
Currently, Appalachia Virginia teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving, even with hands-free devices! Needless to say, even adults should exercise caution whenever using a cell phone behind the wheel, and consider keeping such use to a minimum.
Appalachia Virginia Online Driver Education