Amityville New York Online Driver Education and Amityville New York Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Amityville New York Learner’s Permit or first Amityville New York driver’s license. Amityville New York has a Graduated Driver License Program for Amityville New York teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first Amityville New York driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
The Amityville New York Instructional Permit or Amityville New York Learner’s Permit
When you turn 16, you can apply for a Amityville New York Learner’s Permit. You’ll need the following:
If you’ve got all of the necessary materials, head on down to your local Amityville New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to pass a vision test, as well as a written test. If you pass, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Amityville New York Instructional Permit!
Remember, you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 21. All passengers must wear seatbelts, and be sure to carry your Amityville New York Learner’s Permit with you at all times.
When you’ve held your Amityville New York Learner’s Permit for 6 months and have met a few requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Amityville New York Graduated License Program.
The Amityville New York Provisional Driver License or Amityville New York Full License
You can apply for your Amityville New York State license once you’ve held your Amityville New York Instructional Permit for 6 months and have met the following requirements:
- Hold the Amityville New York Learner’s Permit for 6 months without incident
- Complete 50 hours of supervised driving experience
- 15 hours must be at night
- complete a Amityville New York approved driver education course
If you’ve completed these requirements, schedule an appointment, then head on down to your local Amityville New York DMV. Your parent/guardian must verify that you’ve completed the required supervised driving practice. Pay the license fee, and then you’ll have to take the dreaded road test! If you pass, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Amityville New York License. However, you’ll still have to drive with a few restrictions until you’ve held your new license for at least 12 months without incident.
Amityville New York Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are several restrictions you need to be aware of regarding your Amityville New York Driver License:
- Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt
- You must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21
- No driving on any street within a park in Amityville New York City
- No driving in a bridge/tunnel under the jurisdiction of the Triborough Bridge & Tunnel Authority
- No driving on the Cross Country, Hutchinson River, Saw Mill River, or Taconic State parkways in Westchester County
However, once you pass the road exam and earn your Amityville New York full driver’s license, these restrictions are removed. Freedom!
Amityville New York Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Amityville New York Learner’s Permit or Amityville New York Provisional driver’s license, you’re ready to drive--or are you? Not quite yet, because Amityville New York drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury
- $50,000/$100,000 death
- $10, 000 for property damage
If you are in an accident and found to be driving without Amityville New York mandatory liability insurance, your Amityville New York license could be suspended.
Amityville New York Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a Amityville New York teen driver, it’s important for you to learn the Amityville New York drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like most state, Amityville New York has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Amityville New York DUI or Amityville New York DWI, you face addition penalties to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of a Amityville New York DWI, you’ll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence up to 1 year
- License suspension 6 month minimum
- Fine from $500 to $1,000
- Mandatory surcharge
- Mandatory alcohol screening and/or alcohol evaluation.
And of course, further Amityville New York DWI and DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Amityville New York license suspension or even Amityville New York license revocation.
Currently, Amityville New York teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving (unless using a hands-free device). The fine is $100 and a Amityville New York traffic infraction on your Amityville New York driving record.